Season 1996-97

Season 1996-97. The club failed to justify favouritism for the Conference title in 1996/97 and, despite another lengthy FA Cup run to the First Round Proper stage, the end of February 1997 found the side at the bottom of the table and out of both the FA Trophy and Northants Senior Cup.

Brian Talbot, the ex-Ipswich Town, Arsenal and England player, was appointed to the coaching staff on 1st March, taking complete control a week later. The team lost only twice more to eventually finish in 12th place.

Shortly after Talbot’s arrival the team recorded a 5-1 win away at local rivals Kettering Town, and shortly afterwards the league double was completed as the team maintained an unbeaten home record in the league until the end of the season.

See below for a match summary as well as links to match reports. The final league table for the season can be seen here.

See here for a detailed summary of all the games during the season, including team-line up for each game and match timings.

Date V Lge Opponent Result Scorers Att
Sat 10/08/96 H SLCS Nuneaton Borough Won 3-0 Collins/2, Alford 1210
Sat 17/08/96 A Conf Altrincham Utd Lost 3-4 Cramman/2, Collins 1034
Tue 20/08/96 A Conf Slough Town Lost 0-5 1325
Sat 24/08/96 H Conf Northwich Vic Drew 1-1 Collins 2112
Mon 26/08/96 A Conf Hayes Drew 1-1 Alford 1043
Sat 31/08/96 H Conf Stalybridge Ctc Drew 1-1 Cramman 2156
Tue 03/09/96 H Conf Macclesfield Tn Drew 1-1 Wilkin 2242
Sat 07/09/96 A Conf Halifax Town Won 3-1 Rodwell, Collins, Cramman 948
Mon 09/09/96 A Conf Northwich Vic Won 2-1 Wilson, Rodwell 769
Sat 14/09/96 A FAC1q Westfields Won 4-0 Wilkin, Furnell/3 518
Tue 17/09/96 H Conf Farnborough Lost 0-2 2298
Sat 21/09/96 A Conf Woking Lost 2-4 Wilkin, Bailey 2768
Tue 24/09/96 H Conf Stevenage Boro Lost 0-1 3288
Sat 28/09/96 H FAC2q Gresley Rovers Won 4-0 King, Alford/2, Collins 1875
Mon 30/09/96 A Conf Hednesford Town Lost 0-1 1252
Sat 05/10/96 H Conf Welling Utd Won 3-0 og, Stott, Cramman 2296
Tue 08/10/96 A SC1 Dover Athletic Won 3-2 Cramman, Wilkin/2 723
Sat 12/10/96 H FAC3q Bilston Town Won 1-0 Collins 1605
Mon 14/10/96 A Conf Kidderminster H Lost 0-1 2603
Sat 19/10/96 H Conf Gateshead Lost 0-4 2214
Sat 26/10/96 H FAC4q Bognor Regis Won 2-0 Collins/2 1844
Sat 02/11/96 A Conf Southport Lost 1-2 King 1225
Sat 09/11/96 H Conf Dover Athletic Drew 1-1 Alford 2110
Tue 12/11/96 A NHSC2 Kettering Town Lost 1-2 Holden 1862
Sat 16/11/96 A FAC1 Boreham Wood Drew 1-1 Hackett 1567
Tue 19/11/96 H SC2 Stevenage Boro Won 1-0 Collins 1059
Sat 23/11/96 A Conf Morecambe Lost 0-2 1040
Tue 26/11/96 H FAC1r Boreham Wood Lost 2-3 Wilkin, Collins 2619
Sat 30/11/96 H Conf Bath City Won 4-1 Collins Wilkin/2, Capone 1853
Sat 07/12/96 A Conf Telford Utd Won 5-0 Collins/2, Rodwell, Alford/2 909
Sat 14/12/96 H Conf Bromsgrove Rvrs Lost 1-2 Alford 2144
Mon 16/12/96 A SC3 Kidderminster H Lost 0-1 811
Sat 21/12/96 H Conf Kidderminster H Drew 1-1 Alford 2529
Sat 28/12/96 A Conf Stalybridge Celtic Lost 0-2 788
Sat 18/01/97 H FAT1 Farnborough Tn Lost 1-2 Wilkin 1789
Sat 25/01/97 A Conf Farnborough Tn Drew 2-2 Leworthy, Stapleton 961
Sat 01/02/97 H Conf Morecambe Won 2-1 Leworthy, Cramman 2145
Sat 08/02/97 H Conf Hednesford Town Lost 0-2 2618
Sat 15/02/97 A Conf Macclesfield Tn Lost 1-2 Leworthy 1304
Sat 22/02/97 A Conf Gateshead Lost 0-1 632
Sat 01/03/97 H Conf Slough Town Drew 2-2 Capone/2 1980
Sat 08/03/97 A Conf Kettering Town Won 5-1 Alford, Hackett, Leworthy/2,   Butterworth (V) 4628
Sat 15/03/97 A Conf Bromsgrove Rvrs Won 1-0 Alford 1109
Tue 18/03/97 H Conf Kettering Town Won 1-0 Stott 5170
Sat 22/03/97 H Conf Telford Utd Won 2-0 Rodwell, Leworthy 2554
Tue 25/03/97 A Conf Welling Utd Won 1-0 Leworthy 747
Sat 29/03/97 A Conf Dover Athletic Drew 1-1 Hackett 1671
Mon 31/03/97 H Conf Hayes Drew 2-2 Collins, Alford 3134
Sat 05/04/97 H Conf Southport Won 3-0 Alford/2, Leworthy 2218
Sat 12/04/97 A Conf Bath City Lost 2-3 Alford, Stapleton 960
Mon 21/04/97 A Conf Stevenage Boro Lost 1-4 Alford 2836
Sat 26/04/97 H Conf Halifax Town Won 1-0 Hackett 2629
Tue 29/04/97 H Conf Woking Drew 1-1 Collins 2589
Sat 03/05/97 H Conf Altrincham Utd Won 3-2 Butterworth, og, King 2521

Note – those games with a (P) in the scorers column will have match photos in the report, and those with a (V) will have a link to video highlights of the game.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: